Monday, November 30, 2009

"Santa is like the Dread Pirate Roberts"

Hey guys!

I'm laughing inwardly right now. It seems that the only time that I write a new blog post is when I am supposed to be working on a Lit paper. Hehe

Thanksgiving was wonderful as usual. The food was amazing and, of course, there was enough leftovers to last us until Christmas. I watched the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade for a little while. My parents made me turn the TV off because I was critiquing every singer though. Haha.

I do believe that I would make a great American Idol judge.

I am going to see New Moon with one of my friends soon. She has to finish reading the books first haha. Twilight is NOT my favorite series by far, but I want to see the movie. :)

As for the title of this post, I'll let you figure it out yourself. :) I will explain it in my next post if I remember.

Sorry this post was so short and scattered today! I will try to write more later!
~Andrea~

Sunday, November 1, 2009

"If it was a dream, there would be rum."

Hey guys! How was your Halloween? Mine was pretty good! *points to the title of post* Do ya know what movie that quotation is from? If you don't, you are really missing out. And that's saying it nicely. That quotation is from Pirates of the Caribbean. The reason that it is the title of this post is because of all the pirates I saw running around yesterday during my church's fall festival. But the #1 pirate costume that I saw belonged to one of my friends. He came as Jack Sparrow. He had the medallion, the compass, the rings, the whole shebang. It was pretty awesome.

Haha I really want to watch Pirates of the Caribbean again now....

Anywho, I didn't get any candy because I was working. But working was fun so I'm not complaining. Much. Haha. I loved seeing all the kid's costumes. Some of them were so creative!

Sorry this post is so short! I gotta finish my lit paper for tomorrow. Thankfully, it is a really easy paper to write haha ;)

Have a great week guys! God bless!
~Andrea~

Friday, October 30, 2009

America, London, and Catching Up.

Heyyyy Peeps!

Sorry I haven't written in so long.... Life has been crazy! So I'll catch you up in a minute

But first.....

Do any of you guys have Qubo on your TV? Man, it's like America's biggest marketing scam in the history of all mankind. OK, maybe that's a little over the top. But really, my sister watches it 24/7 when she is not playing or doing schoolwork. Anywho, half of that station is commercials for stuff that will "make your life easier" and all that Jazz. Like the Snuggie. What the heck? It really is not that hard to reach over and grab a remote or something. Your arm will not freeze in that short amount of time. I promise.

Sigh.....

So anyway... Since I last wrote, we have moved into our new house. It's really nice and all but I have to share half my bathroom with my little sister. We have one of those bathrooms that we get our own sink areas but we have to share the shower and all that. Don't get me wrong, it's much better than sharing a bathroom with my brother but still.... she's 7.

Yeah.

Summer went by in a blur. What with camp, a mission trip, and VBS. Man, they were interesting. I'll just give you the highlights. Camp was pretty amazing. I barely got sunburned (which is a huge accomplishment for me) and all the sermons were amazing. The mission trip was also amazing. We went to this little town up in Ohio. Now, let me just stop right here and tell you that I am from the South and we have as many churches as Walgreens and a lot of those are Baptist churches. The further you travel up north, however, you see fewer and fewer churches and almost none of them are Baptist. So recently, a few families went up to this little town and started a church up there. So we went there and helped with their VBS. In short, we prayer walked in the mornings/afternoons and helped with VBS in the evenings. We went to their service on Sunday morning and they were nice enough to try to make good southern sweet tea. I was really sad to leave. VBS was... *cough* great. I did puppets. I won't go into details, but there was so much drama behind the puppet stage that I was about to scream at the end of the week. But other than that, it was great.

And I almost forgot! You probably want to hear about London!

London was AMAZING! I mean, America seems old to me but London was so much older! It blew me away! We went to Stonehenge, Buckingham, Westminster, St. Paul's, and so much more! I'm pretty sure I could live there. I love the food and the accents and, most of all, the history! I could go on and on and on but I won't. Maybe next blog post :).

So, I went on a "camp out" with my Church youth group about 2 weeks ago. I slept in a cabin. Haha yeah, really roughing it! Anyway, it was really fun. There was no light pollution out there. I mean none. Zip. Zippo. Etc.... So I could see so many stars! It was so beautiful! Haha I seem like such a city chick now.... anyway, the next day we were all really tired so we were doing stupid stuff. Like rolling down a hill in a big plastic pipe. It was pretty awesome. I was so sore the next day though. ;)

I also went to the Casting Crowns concert. It was amazing! The church that it was at was filled to the brim! I really can't describe it. It was just so amazing. Oh, and I saw a guy that looked like a pirate there. No joke.


I have also read the Harry Potter and Twilight series. All I can say about Twilight is that it def. was not my favorite book. But I read the Harry Potter series twice and have watched all the movies except the Half-Blood Prince. They are pretty good. :)

So, now we are back to the present. I am studying the book of Proverbs for my devos. That is one amazing book. Read it. You know you want to.

And Halloween..... I have no idea what I am going to dress up as. Hum. I know that I am going to work at my church's Fall Festival though. Fun stuff.

So now you are all up to date. Thanks for waiting for me! haha
Love you guys and God bless!
~Andrea~

Monday, March 9, 2009

Ranting :]

Heyyy Peeps!

Yeah, I know, it has been forever since I have posted anything but the last few weeks have been wild. Won't go into the details but lets just say the key words are "School" "Snow" "Books" and "Pirates of the Caribbean Online"

Speaking of books, I have read some good ones lately :]

Maximum Ride. Has anyone read that series? I finished the first one not to long ago. Pretty good. And, well, unusual :]

Tattooed Rats. Wow. It was fast paced and, as with all (or most) of Jerry B. Jenkins books, was extremely thought provoking. Read it! You'll like it.

Uglies. That series is odd (in the good way mostly). I talked about it in some of my previous posts.

Inkheart. I have only read the first book in the series, but it was good. Curious about the movie :]

Speaking of movies, I saw Wall-E a few nights ago. That is a cute movie. But It got me thinking. I mean, is THAT what the world is going to be like? Will we REALLY have to leave in the next 50 or so years because of all the garbage? Will we REALLY get that overweight? These are the questions that pop into my mind. I know, "Andrea, it's a KIDS movie! It's supposed to be ENTERTAINING and we shouldn't dwell on these small things!" Yeah yeah yeah. I know. But I can't help thinking about the deeper meanings. :] Yeah I know I'm weird. I am reminded of that every day. :]

So, my brother left this morning to go on a mission trip. He will be gone until Friday. It already seems a little more quiet without him. :]

I mentioned that my fam was building a house. Well, it's almost finished! We will be moving in very soon. I am excited!

So, yeah. Not the longest post I could have posted. Oh well.

Have a good week!

~Andrea~

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Tatiana, Obama, and Me

Hello Hello Hello!

How are all of my loverly peeps today? I am just rosy. Thanks for asking.

So this week has been odd... in the good way if there is a good odd....

ANYWHO

On Sunday......Well, Sunday morning was normal. Our pastor preached a good sermon and Sunday School was AMAZING. Our pastor's daughter came to my house just to hang out before we had to go back to church that afternoon. Puppets was good. Still need to point some stuff out to some younger people though. Choir was... O.K. We sang that night and it was uneventful. The pastor's sermon that night, though, really hit home. He talked about taming the tongue. Wow, was that ever thought provoking.

Monday, Lit was odd and weird and funny and many other different adjectives. We had an open book quiz we did at home that we were checking. Turns out MY version of the book was a tad different than everyone else's. O.K., IT IS NOT MY FAULT! We were all laughing at my book at the end of class but, thankfully, everyone was laughing WITH me not AT me.

Tuesday, I was feeling crummy but my mom INSISTED I go to Spanish. Well, thankfully, my Spanish teacher is really nice. We feasted on hot tea and chocolate covered pretzels and spoke Spanish for 2 hours. After Spanish, I went to get my passport. O.K., I know all of you guys are wondering "Where is she going?". Well, I am going to England in August for my birthday. So, my mom, my dad, and I went to the post office about 30 minutes before it closed. The line stretched out the door. Thankfully, that door was inside so my parents and I waited in semi-warmth. After waiting for what seemed like an hour, all my passport paperwork and such was done and we headed home.

Wednesday! Wednesday was crummy. Well, I was feeling crummy at least, so I could not go to my Piano lesson or to church. So, I banged on the piano at home for an hour or so while my brother was yelling at me to stop and my nose was running like Niagara Falls and I was coughing like Mr. Poe in A Series of Unfortunate Events. Ah yes, good times. Anyway, that night I was pleased to watch Tatiana del Torro get kicked from American Idol. That girl reminds me of my sister, being such a drama queen and all. I know this sounds mean, but I enjoyed watching her pity party she was having on stage.

Today, so far, has been so-so. I woke up pretty late with a sore throat. It is not awful but my apatite has not been there, so basically my first meal of the day was at 3:00 this afternoon. And, my mom told me that Obama's popularity has diminished lately. Oh, my. I wonder why?

So that is my summary of the last few days. Being sick for all of it was not fun but I am doing better. I just ask you guys to pray for my health.

Love you guys! Have a good week!
~Andrea~

Saturday, February 14, 2009

Happy Single's Awareness Day!

Good Morning! And happy Single's Awareness Day!

Lol, yah I guess you guys can tell I'm single (as usual), but, hey, I'm not rushing it.

So I went to my grandmother's house last night and played on the wii. Mostly Wii fit....

Oww

I can feel it this morning..... It feels like my middle has been in a fight and is all brused up.... No kidding....

So right now I am just writing a short blog post and then going up to work on my extremely messy room. Oh joy.

Yah, so I'll head up now.
Happy (fine) V-Day to all of you!
~Andrea~

Monday, February 9, 2009

Elementery, My Dear Watosn!

Heyyyyy guys!

So, I am taking a much needed break from writing my Lit. essay. I guess that's the reason for the title (we read Sherlock Holmes last semester). So, if you want a sucidal play to read, just read Antigone. I won't elaborate, just read it for yourself.

*Ahem* Anyway,

I'm kind of excited. I have one follower! I won't mention the fact that I know her. Ah, but hopefully this blog will grow and blossom in time. *sigh* I can only hope.

Anyho

I picked up a book at Target (yes target! There are actually books at Target! Who woulda thunk!) that my friends Hannah and Jenny have read called Uglies. That book is really interesting. I won't tell you everything about the book, but I will tell some stuff. *BEWARE! SPOILERS AHEAD*---->

It's really interesting how, in the future earth this book is set in, you start out as a littlie, than an ugly (both of these stages you go to school and study how stupid the past earth-dwellers called "rusties"were), then, at 16 (or whatever age the rulers of your town decide), you get this operation (that is kind of like plastic surgury, only to the extreme), and you turn into a "pretty" and you are beautiful with perfect skin, perfect bones, perfect eyes, perfect everything, and you live the rest of your "new pretty"life partying.

Ok, that, in itself, is weird. Is that what America will come to? I shudder at the thought! After turning 16, we turn into some brainless bimbo who partys for a living until we are "middle pretties" and start thinking about working? That is scarey. I would sooo hate that. And, it kindof hearkins back to my preveous entery. The standards for the teen years (or the "new pretty" years in the book) have dropped. So, were expected to "party" during these years of out lives, and not think about working until college or later? That is just sad, not to mention annoying for the few teens who actully want to live differently than that pitiful standard

So, I havn't finished it, so I don't know what the main charicter's inportant decision will be...

Thanks for reading! I gotta run!
~Andrea~

Friday, February 6, 2009

It's the Pits, Doing Hard Things, New Houses, Life in General

Ok, so I know I havn't posted a new blog post in a while but life has been crazy.

For one, I have been sick for the past week. Ugg I hate being sick but it's a part of life everyone has to deal with. And, sadly, being sick might keep us from going to things we were REALLY looking forward to...

Like Winter Jam, for instance.....

Ok, I won't vent too bad on you guys, but I was really looking forward to Winter Jam (check it out!-http://www.hearitfirst.com/jamtour/)sigh.... Well, anyway, my brother got to go. I guess that sent me over the edge. Why does HE get to go and not ME? But my mom pointed out that God has a reason for everything.... I missed Winter Jam for a reason.....and only He knows what the reason is. I may never know. I won't lie, that annoys the boogyman out of me but I just have to deal with it.

Another of my new discoveries is the book Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris. That book is AMAZING. It talks about how the standard for the teen years is really low, and we are basicly expected to do only what it takes to get by. Wow. You can read Alex and Brett's story and a whole lot more in the book or on their website- http://www.therebelution.com/

I'm going to be moving soon! Yay! I guess.... well, my family is building a house right across the street from my grandparent's house, just to be closer to them just in case something happens or whatnot. Anyho, the building process is taking FOREVER and so is packing. We want to be ready. Yah, life is crazy, but when is it not?

So, yah. That's pretty much it for now.
See you guys soon! I'm going to put some moistureiser on my poor nose. Ugg it's the pits being sick.....
~Andrea~

Thursday, January 15, 2009

I have FLAIR!

Hello guys!
So all you facebookers: Have you noticed how addicting Flair is?
I am looking at Narnia flair at the moment. I have no idea how many pages of those there are, but I gurantee you I will go through all, or at least most of it.
Question: Why is Flair so addicting?
I'll leave the answer up to you. :]
For instance: last week, my mother and I were up till 10:30 PM looking at flair.
I won't mention the fact that most of it was Twilight flair. :]
Anyho, at page, well, 180, she looked at me and said "WHY are we doing this again?"
Haha
Well, thats all for now!
God Bless!
~Andrea~

Monday, January 12, 2009

Why, Hello Chums!

Haha, ok, the title is a little wacky, but oh well!
Hello, my name is Andrea
I am a christian
I love music
I am kind of new to all this blogging stuff, so bear with me!
Umm... yah....
So, I was *ahem* 'inspired' to start a blog after reading my friend Marissa's (UndyingLove--check it out!)
Alright, anyway, I'll post more soon!
l8er peeps!
~Andrea~